Delayed Gratification

‘Delayed gratification is one of the most effective personal traits of successful people. People that delay gratification are more successful with their career, relationships, health, finances and really, all areas of life.’(startofhappiness.com)

I waited until yesterday to finally celebrate my birthday, a month after the official date. Lovely to have my family around me and have a delicious three-course meal cooked for me. But normally, I don’t go to work on my birthday so it wasn’t quite the same as the normal celebration. Lots of cards with inspiring messages…for the marathon, and treats for my post marathon recovery. I don’t plan to save them up for that long!

So, if I delay my marathon attempt till April 24th 2016, will it really be better? Hard to tell from where I am at the moment, still a bit fuzzy, like my birthday photograph. Can’t imagine ever being able to run a marathon or even train for one right now. Who was that person who did all that training?

Was told by the Doctor today that it can take about 8 weeks to full recovery.Good things come to those who wait, apparently.

A couple of people have congratulated me on raising so much (£6,173.40…and still counting) without even having had to run. I  just want to remind you that I did actually do quite a lot of running!

Obviously I am delaying the gratification of the full event because it will make me a better person.

FullSizeRender

Leave a Reply

