Carrying on Regardless

#17 reason for doing the London Marathon: It gets me up in the morning

#17 fact about M.S: , Only the nerves in the central nervous system are damaged by multiple sclerosis. Although MS can affect all parts of the body, this is due to the interruption or blocking of nerve messages within the central nervous system. The peripheral nerves themselves are not directly damaged by MS.

The fundraising seems to be taking on a life of its own. As my donation total increases so does my confidence…£3,408.20 and counting.

On Saturday I did a run with some of the MS trust marathon-running team. I was feeling quite nervous and not particularly enthusiastic due to the cold and windy weather, but just before I left I had two very generous donations on my page and they spurred me on to great things! Starting in Canary wharf it took in some of the London marathon route on the Isle of dogs and then crossed under the river to Greenwich Park and Blackheath. I did 15 miles but felt I could have carried on – a good sign I think! There were hills! I never run hills so took those really gently. Strong support from Rick and Sam, getting some practice in for Marathon day. I listened to music for some of the run; was inspired by Jessica’s choice of ‘Recomposed’ by Max Richter: Vivaldi – The Four Seasons; ran and sang to Van Morrison’s ‘Carry on Regardless’ and smiled through Sarah’s choice of Kasabian’s ‘Shoot the Runner’. Any more suggestions??

On Sunday we had our street sale. That was a fun, community event and we made about £80 through sales and donations with a bonus of having time to chat to neighbours and get rid of stuff from the cellar, so a success! While we were basking in the sun in Hammersmith, brave Torontonians were braving the cold and running around Christie Pitts Park to fundraise for MS Trust. They were treated to a delicious brunch afterwards. My sister Frani organized the event with strong support from Don, Aaron, Andrea and Bruce and bagel donors, Linda and Tom. The final count isn’t in but is around $1000 Canadian.

Monday was Rick’s birthday and we celebrated by taking part in the pub quiz at the Queen Adelaide pub in Shepherds Bush,organized by Susie Jolly. It was so much fun and although our team (Onward Quiz Team Soldiers) did not win, we did not come last! Everyone was so kind and generous. I think the total is around £230. Amazing.  So grateful to my lovely friend for organizing that, and the food in the pub was delicious too!

31 days to go..

Lots more fundraising to come..

Street Sale

Street Sale

Aaron and Andrea

Aaron and Andrea

Organising the run in Toronto

Organising the run in Toronto

Susie Jolly- quiz organiser extraordinaire!

Susie Jolly- quiz organiser extraordinaire!

Pub quiz

Pub quiz

Leave a Reply

